• English
  • French




What are they?

In collaboration with Pacific governments, the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) has to date developed joint country strategies for its 22 island member countries and territories. These strategies outline, in one integrated document, the full scope of SPC’s assistance to individual Pacific Community members over a defined period, based on the country’s own priorities and national development strategy.

SPC Director-General, Dr Jimmie Rodgers, says “For SPC, the joint country strategies underpin our working relationship with our members. They describe the services our programmes will provide in each country, from training and technical assistance to policy advisory services, and above all, they identify priority areas and activities very clearly. This is important when there are limited resources, and when new challenges are emerging.”

To date, joint country strategy missions have been completed for Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati,   Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Pitcairn Islands, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Wallis and Futuna.   Four more missions remain for 2009 – to American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, French Polynesia and Samoa; and 2010 will cover Fiji, Guam, Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu.

SPC is working with other regional agencies and development partners to explore ways of cooperating in developing and implementing the joint country strategies.

JCS Mission Year  Country   Status of JCS
 2006  Tokelau  Draft
 2007  Cook Islands Approved 
   Kiribati  Approved
   Nauru  Approved
   Marshall Islands  Approved
 2008  Federated States of Micronesia (FSM)  Approved
   Niue  Approved
   Pitcairns Islands  Approved
   Solomon Islands  Approved
   Tuvalu  Approved
 2009  Wallis and Futuna  Approved
   Palau  Approved
   Tonga  Approved
   Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)  Approved
   American Samoa  Final Draft
   French Polynesia  Draft
   Samoa  Draft
 2010  Fiji  To be developed
   Guam  To be developed
   New Caledonia  To be developed
   Papua New Guinea  To be developed
   Vanuatu  To be developed


Last Updated ( Wednesday, 16 June 2010 )