Historic Pacific Community governing body meeting to convene in New Caledonia


Representatives of the 26 countries and territories that govern the Pacific Community (SPC) will meet in Noumea, New Caledonia, from 28 to 30 June 2016 for the 46th meeting of the Committee of Representatives of Governments and Administrations (CRGA46).

This is the first time that the CRGA will convene mid-year and the new schedule follows an endorsement by members at the Pacific Community Conference in Alofi, Niue, in November 2015.

Significant items on the agenda will be a report on SPC’s scientific and technical results for 2015, the organisation’s new sustainable financing model, an update of the Pacific Youth Development Framework and the Council of Regional Organisations in Pacific (CROP) cohesion and enhanced engagement in the framework for Pacific Regionalism.

“SPC has proudly served the Pacific for close to seven decades and this is a very important year for the SPC family as we implement our new strategic plan which will guide our activities over the next five years.

“We look forward to this new chapter of collaboration with our members and many development partners, in pursuit of effective and sustainable Pacific development, and the upcoming CRGA46 plays a crucial role in this process,” the Pacific Community Director-General, Dr Colin Tukuitonga, said.

Immediately preceding the meeting, member representatives will undergo a one day seminar on governance.

The CRGA will be “paper smart”, consistent with SPC’s environmental policy.

Media contact
Jean-Noel Royer,SPC Communications Officer, [email protected], +687 87 70 63

Media access
Media representatives are welcome to attend. Media interested in covering the officials meeting (CRGA) are invited to contact Lauren Robinson in SPC’s Communications and Public Information team: [email protected]

The Pacific Community (SPC) is the principal scientific and technical organisation in the Pacific region, proudly supporting development since 1947. It is an international development organisation owned and governed by its 26 country and territory members.