Ministers to review Pacific Regional Cultural Strategy in Guam


img_6093_samoaA mid-term review of the Pacific’s 10-year regional cultural strategy is high on the agenda as representatives from over 25 countries and territories gather for the 27th Council of Pacific Arts and Culture meeting in Hagatna, Guam, today.
The Government of Guam and the Pacific Community (SPC) are hosting the biennial council meeting, which is taking place during the 12th Festival of Pacific Arts.

The Pacific’s Regional Cultural Strategy: Investing in Pacific Cultures 2010-2020 sets the standards to safeguard and promote the region’s cultural aspirations by providing policy guidance for the development of the cultural sector and the promotion of Pacific cultures.

Other key items on the council meeting agenda include: Hawaii’s preparation for the 13th Festival of Pacific Arts in 2020; submissions to host the 14th Festival in 2024; the 2005 UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions, and a panel discussion on cultural development in the region.

The Council meeting will be followed tomorrow by the 3rd Pacific Ministers for Culture meeting.

“Recommendations from the Council meeting today will be presented for deliberation to the Third Pacific Ministers for Culture meeting,” Director of SPC’s Social Development Programme, Letuala Kuiniselani Toelupe Tago-Elisara, said.

“It’s one example of the important events taking place in Guam over the next fortnight, highlighting how the Festival of Pacific Arts has become a platform for dialogue and decision making on important cultural development issues, facing the region and the global community,” she said.

The Pacific Ministers for Culture meeting is held every four years to coincide with the Festival of Pacific Arts.

Countries and territories attending the 27th Council of Pacific Arts and third Pacific Ministers of Culture meetings include: American Samoa, Australia, Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, Cook Islands, Easter Island (Rapa Nui), Fiji, Federated States of Micronesia, French Polynesia, Guam, Hawaii, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Island, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Wallis and Futuna.

Both meetings are being held at the Guam Governor’s Office in Adelup.

Media contacts:
Elise Huffer, SPC Culture Adviser,  [email protected] or +671 487 9030
Oyaol Ngirairikl, Director of Communications, Governor’s Office,  [email protected]  or +671 475 9379

Useful links:
Regional Cultural Strategy: Investing in Pacific Cultures 2010-2020
12th Festival of Pacific Arts Guam